Keeping Score
Detail of ancient mural on temple wall in Nan, Thailand

I've decided to do a little housekeeping to keep track of the provinces I have visited in Thailand. The country has 76 provinces, plus Bangkok, which is an administrative district, not a province, like the District of Columbia in the US. I have visited 33 of the provinces, plus Bangkok. In addition, the country is divided into five regions: the Central, Eastern, Northern, Northeastern and Southern regions. So I've decided to list the provinces I've visited by region, alphabetically for easy look-up, within each region. After that I have listed the provinces by region that I have not yet visited (43).   [33 + 43 = 76]

Update 28 December 2015

In December 2015 our travels took us to ten new provinces: Chaiyaphum, Kalasin, Khon Kaen, Loei, Maha Sarakham, Nong Bua Lam Phu, Petchabun, Phitsanulok, Udon Thani and Uttaradit. We have updated the listings of the provinces below and our new totals are 43 provinces visited and 33 provinces not yet visited. So we have now been to more than half of the provinces. [43 + 33 = 76]

Update 11 January 2016

In January 2016, we discovered the excellent Thailand Photo Gallery by Leslie R. Wilk, which sorts images by province and displays them in slideshows that run automatically. Choose a province and sit back and enjoy great photos of many of the destinations in that part of the country. Wilk has prepared galleries for Bangkok and 45 of the provinces. I have integrated these galleries into the listings below. The link in the names below go to those Wilk photo galleries. Enjoy great images of many parts of Thailand. No extra charge. Of course Leslie R. Wilk owns the copyright to all the pictures in these galleries.   

The Subdivisions of Thailand That I've Visited

Administrative District:

1. Bangkok

Central Provinces:

1. Ang Thong
2. Chachoengsao
3. Chainat
4. Kanchanaburi
5. Lopburi
6. Nonthaburi
7. Phetchaburi
8. Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya
9. Prachuap Khiri Khan
10. Samut Prakan
11. Samut Sakhon
12. Samut Songkhram
13. Singburi
14. Suphanburi

Eastern Provinces:

1. Chonburi

Northern Provinces:

1. Chiang Mai
2. Chiang Rai
3. Kamphaeng Phet
4. Lampang
5. Lamphun
6. Mae Hong Son
7. Nakhon Sawan
8. Nan

9.  Phayao

10. Phetchabun

11. Phitsanulok

12. Phrae

13. Sukhothai

14. Tak

15. Uthaithani

16. Uttaradit

Northeastern Provinces:

1. Chaiyaphum

2. Kalasin

3. Khon Kaen

4. Loei

5. Maha Sarakham

6. Nong Bua Lamphu

7. Udon Thani

Southern Provinces:

1. Chumphon
2. Krabi
3. Phang Nga
4. Phuket
5. Surat Thani

The Provinces That I've Not Yet Visited 

Central Provinces:

Nakhon Nayok, Nakhon Pathom, Pathum Thani, Prachin Buri, Ratchaburi, Sa Kaew, Saraburi (7)

Eastern Provinces:

Chanthaburi, Rayong, Trat (3)

Northern Provinces:

Phichit (1)

Northeastern Provinces:

Amnat Charoen, Bueng Kan, Buriram, Mukdahan, Nakhon Phanom, Nakhon Ratchasima, Nong Khai, Roi Et, Sakon Nakhon, Sisaket, Surin, Ubon Ratchathani, Yasothon (13)

Southern Provinces:

Nakhon Si Thammarat, Narathiwat, Pattani, Phattalung, Ranong, Satun, Songkhla, Trang, Yala (9)

Text & banner image Copyright: 2014-15 by Ron Chester
11 March 2015, updated 25 November 2015 & 28 Dec 2015